New York’s No-Fault Laws and Time Limits
New York is a no-fault state when it comes to car accidents. This means that laws require that a driver carry personal injury protection coverage for their vehicle. This allows all people in the vehicle to obtain benefits, regardless of who was at fault during the accident. No-fault benefits are limited in some cases to $50,000 unless the insured purchased additional benefits. No-fault claims must be filed within 30 days of the accident. Filing after this deadline could lead to a reduction or even a complete loss of benefits.
Menafn reports on the most common types of accidents that occur in Long Island, New York where insurance claims must be filed.
New York Civil Practice Laws and Rules Section 214 states that any person injured in a car accident has three years from the date of the crash to file a personal injury lawsuit. Some injuries that are suffered in a car accident may not immediately present themselves. Because there is a time limit, it is important that people involved seek medical evaluation.
The most common kinds of accidents that take place on Long Island are the following:
- Head-On Collisions
- Side-Impact Collisions
- Rollover accidents
- Rear-end Collisions
- Hit-and-Run Accidents
Along with being a no-fault state, New York is also a contributory negligence state. When a monetary judgment is being deliberated, the individual parties will be assigned a degree of fault. The amount of compensation will be determined by how much the individual is at fault in the accident. For example, if determined to be 20% at fault, the person would likely receive 80% in compensation rather than 100%.