Home » News » News » A Woman Was Arrested For A DUI With A BAC Three Times The Legal Limit

A Woman Was Arrested For A DUI With A BAC Three Times The Legal Limit

New York was one of the first states in the U.S. to enact drunk driving laws. While every state has differing penalties for driving while intoxicated, most have a strict blood-alcohol limit of 0.08%. However, some states have additional statutes that allow for enhanced or even additional charges when a driver’s blood-alcohol content is above a certain amount. 

In New York, a driver may be charged with Aggravated DWI if their BAC is 0.18% or higher. If charged with this crime, the driver would face a fine of between $1,000-$2,500, a sentence of up to 1 year in jail, and their license revocated for up to one year. This is for a first-time A-DWI offense. If there are further offenses, the penalties can quickly escalate. 

The Daily Voice reports that a woman with a BAC three times the legal limit was arrested in Westchester.

The one-car crash that led to the arrest occurred at about 11:50 p.m. last Wednesday on Interstate 95 in New Rochelle. 

Police were able to determine that 26-year-old Erika Lahaie was allegedly intoxicated at the time of the crash. 

While troopers were attempting to place Lahaie in custody, her passenger, 27-year-old Nicole Hernandez Nunez attempted to interfere with the arrest. She was also taken into custody. 

Lahaie’s BAC was determined to be 0.27%. She was charged with Aggravated DWI, which is a misdemeanor. Nunez was charged with misdemeanor second-degree obstructing governmental administration. 

Both are due back in court on June 15th.

Contact Friedman & Simon, L.L.P.

One of our experienced attorneys will contact you right away...


English English Spanish Spanish
Friedman & Simon, L.L.P.
Click to call
x

Contact Friedman & Simon, L.L.P.

One of our experienced attorneys will contact you right away...